The Complete Works of Roaring Jack Download

The Complete Works of Roaring Jack Download


This is a Downloadable product.
Upon purchasing you will be prompted to download a zip file containing the track artwork and MP3 files included in this album. These are DRM free tracks, however once purchased they can only be downloaded from the Alistair Hulett Store a maximum of five times, and you must download within 14 days, so ensure you backup your purchases once downloaded.

Album Information: Includes all tracks listed below, 164.8 MB size, 44100 Hz sample rate, MP3 format.
Artwork Information: 700 x 700 pixels.


Cover notes written by Alistair Hulett:
During the four years these recordings were made, Roaring Jack was involved in more than a few political campaigns. Some, like the fight to overturn the Labour Government’s de-registration of the Builders Labourers Federation (BLF) and the workers’ occupation of the repair yard on Cockatoo island, ended in defeat.

On the other hand, the victorious campaign exposing the frame-up of Tim Anderson (CEFTA) was one of the sweetest moments in the political life of most of us on the Left in Sydney. It was great to be a part of it all, and listening again to these songs brings back a flood of memories. In particular, it reminds us all of the two band members who can’t be around to enjoy the craic with us anymore. The surviving members of Roaring Jack would like to dedicate this collection to the memory of Steve Thompson and Rod Gilchrist. Sleep on tender comrades.

Track 4 Disc 1, ‘Yuppietown’ as performed by Roaring Jack

Track 10 Disc 1, ‘The Day That the Boys Came Down’ as performed by Roaring Jack

Track 19 Disc 1, ‘Lads of the BLF’ as performed by Roaring Jack

Track 4 Disc 2, ‘Ways of a Rover’ as performed by Roaring Jack

Track Listing Disc 1 (Street Celtabillity, 1987):

  1. The Old Divide and Rule
  2. Buy Us a Drink
  3. Wild Rover Again
  4. Yuppietown
  5. Ballad of 1975
  6. Shell Shocked Crowd

Track Listing Disc 1 (The Cat Among the Pigeons, 1988):

  1. Uisge Beatha
  2. Love in the Modern Age
  3. Lights of Sydney Town
  4. The Day That the Boys Came Down
  5. The Lass Behind the Beertaps
  6. Go, Leave
  7. Destitution Road
  8. The Swaggies Have All Waltzed Matilda Away
  9. Moving On
  10. Playing for the Traffic
  11. The Thin Red Line
  12. The Cat Among the Pigeons
  13. Lads of the BLF

Track Listing Disc 1 (B Sides, 1988):

  1. Honky Tonks in Heaven

Track Listing Disc 2 (Through the Smoke of Innocence, 1989):

  1. Girl on a Gate
  2. Song of Choice
  3. Her Latest Affectation
  4. Ways of a Rover
  5. Lass From Yarrow
  6. October Wind
  7. Polythene Flowers
  8. Child’s Play
  9. The Bonny Wee Well
  10. Take Away Love
  11. A Stranger and a Friend
  12. Shot Down in Flames

Track Listing Disc 2 (B Sides, 1989):

  1. Just Like Cigarettes
  2. The Ball of Yarn

Track Listing Disc 2 (Benefit Single For the Campaign Exposing the Frame Up of Tim Anderson, CEFTA, 1990):

  1. Framed
  2. Criminal Justice


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Complete Works of Roaring Jack Download”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright Information

Unless stated otherwise, the copyright in this website and the material on this website (including without limitation the text, computer code, artwork, photographs, images, music, audio material, video material and audio-visual material on this website) is owned by the Alistair Hulett Memorial Trust and the Alistair Hulett Memorial Fund ©. All rights reserved.

Cookie Information

To make this site work properly, we sometimes place small data files called cookies on your device. A cookie is a small text file that a website saves on your computer or mobile device when you visit the site.

Cookies enable the website to remember your actions and preferences (such as login, language, font size and other display preferences) over a period of time, so you don’t have to keep re-entering them whenever you come back to the site or browse from one page to another.

Read full cookie documentation.

Go to Top